On The Outside Looking In

Finn has partners in crime.   His best buds, Henry (3) and Ike (1),  came over to play and cause some general destruction.   Babysitting three boys is an excellent exercise in family planning.    We moved rapidly through upstairs toys, downstairs toys, ring around the Rosie,  wheels on the bus, bubbles, and crayons.   All in the first half hour.    

I was getting Ike some milk in the kitchen when I heard, “Neah (Henry’s sweet name for me)  I locked the door.”  

My heart started to race as I ran down the hallway to Finn’s bedroom.   The brass handle wiggled wildy as I kneeled at the door listening to their giggles and thumping.  

“Ok boys.  Don’t be scared.  I will get you out,” I said as Ike inspected over my shoulder.

I reached up for the thin brass key over the door jamb and tried to stick it into the small hole.   The handle was still twitching.   “Boys, let go of the handle.”   

My mind was racing.  Their mom will never let me watch them again.  The bedroom window was cracked open.  I could climb in to free them.   Why do they make these keys so damn small?  “Stop wiggling the handle guys.”

After about two minutes of inept lock picking,  I finally said, “Henry,  can you unlock the door?”

One quick click and Henry’s sweet mug was grinning at me, “That was funny, Neah.”

“Are you okay?  Were you scared?”

“I wasn’t, but Finn was.”

Finn giggled as he evaved my attempt to hug him close and escaped into the wilds beyond his tiny green room.   Free at last!  Free at last!  My God I am free at last.

One Response to “On The Outside Looking In”

  1. Jewish Song Says:

    cute story

Leave a Reply

