Safety Dance

Were Men without Hats singing about toddlers?   

 Ssss Aaaa Ffffff Eeeee Ttttt Yyyy Dance

We can dance if we want to
We can leave your friends behind
‘Cause your friends don’t dance and if they don’t dance
Well they’re no friends of mine
I say, we can go where we want to
A place where they will never find
And we can act like we come from out of this world
Leave the real one far behind
And we can dance

Finn wants to go where he wants to and leave his ‘rents behind.  He wants to go where he wants to a place they will never find.    

Since he can open doors,  the world (and the pantry, bathrooms,  and steep steps to the basement)  is his oyster.  After yet another trek to Babies-r-us for safety gear,  Finn watches closely as the Captain installs the locking mechanism on our lever doors.    He is squatting on his haunches.  He loves projects and tools.   Once he realizes what is actually happening,  the diminutive George Jefferson throws a “Weezee” fit flings his hands behind his back and stomps off to test the other doors.   How could we? 

3 Responses to “Safety Dance”

  1. Lizzy Says:

    oh my goodness–this is my second blog in a row that has likened some fabulous 80s music with life with a toddler (check out http://mrs.flinger.us/index.php/summer06/blog_permalink/parenting_80s_butt_rock_ballad_style/)

    I remember vacuuming our play room to the Safety Dance–and using the vacuum cleaner handle as the microphone. Of course my older brother walked in and laughed at me, forever keeping me out of the karaoke bars across America (thank you Jeff!)

  2. Jules Says:

    A “weezie” fit? Now you got me thinking about Steel Magnolias! Steel Magnolias and George Jefferson in one post. How do you DO that?

    (Love the “haunches” comment.)

  3. Allison Says:

    What fun! Sincerely regarding Safety Dance and tongue in cheek with the doors. I feel like my kids figured those things out really quickly.

Leave a comment