Offline

Finn and I spent a week with the grandparents.   Since my dad is a tech geek,  we’ve had access to the information superhighway since the Prodigy days.  Does anyone remember Prodigy?   The in-laws have *gasp* dial-up.  Not that there is anything wrong with dial-up.   Except there was something wrong with the dial-up and I could not get on after the first day.   I could have lugged the laptop back and forth to my parents to post, instead I just took a break.  

So what do people do when they don’t have an Internet connection?   They talk to each other.  They read the actual newspaper.  They go for walks.  They visit friends and relatives.  They play poker.   They connect with the best entertainment available – a curious toddler. 

If Finn could drive himself to PA,  I would be obsolete.   He turned on the charm and the antics big time.   Just a few highlights:

– Unsteady toddling is a thing of the past.   Now,  he simply tucks his hands behind his back and struts like George Jefferson. 

– Doors are no longer an obstacle.   Levers or nobs,  it does not matter which, they have met their match. 

– He learned about chores like feeding the dog and giving her water. 

– He operated some heavy machinery to assist in snow removal.   With toys like this,  I will never get him to use a shovel.

– On the culinary front,  Finn enjoyed asparagus and spinach for the first time, but much to my father’s delight it was prosciutto that the little boy attacked with fervor.   

– Just to prove Mommy wrong before the critics,  he slept like a champ. 

We had a great time, but I had to get him out of there before the endless grandparent chatter about being “brilliant” and “advanced” went to his head.

5 Responses to “Offline”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Prosciutto? Now there are some advanced taste buds! (Glad the visit went well.)

  2. nutmeg Says:

    Let it go to his head! Manifest destiny at its best! Welcome back!

  3. Gunfighter Says:

    Hi… thanks for visiting my blog!

    Glad you enjoyed your visit… and I am glad that you survived being ‘netless.

    Cheers,

    GF

  4. jules Says:

    Leah, I LOVE your take on memorable milestones. My favorite: “Just to prove Mommy wrong before the critics, he slept like a champ.” Why do they always DO that? All that attention must be SO tiring. 😉

  5. slouching mom Says:

    Hah! It took me a minute to remember George Jefferson. And now I can’t get the damn theme song out of my head (“We’re movin’ on up, to the East Side, to a deluxe apartment in the sky…”).

    So thank you for that. Thankyouverymuch.

    He sounds very cute, your Finn.

Leave a Reply

